Faculty and Staff

The current faculty in the chemistry department are connected strongly to the past as we help each generation of majors navigate through the waters at Berea College and find a career they can truly embrace for a lifetime.

Current Faculty

Dr. Mary Robert Garrett, Department Chairperson 2020-present; Coordinator of Advising 2019-present; Associate Professor of Organic Chemistry; Paul C Hagar Excellence in Advising Award, 2015; most recently on sabbatical leave for 2016-2017 academic year doing work at the chemistry program at the University of Nottingham in England, upcoming sabbatical in 2023-24; started at Berea College in Fall 2009.

Chemistry Faculty and Majors at Graduation 2016

Dr. Anes Kovacevic, Departmental Chairperson 2015-2020; Associate Professor of Inorganic Chemistry; sabbatical leave in Bath England during Spring 2014, sabbatical leave at University of Kentucky during Fall 2020, upcoming sabbatical in 2027-28; started at Berea College in Fall 2006.

Dr. Matt Saderholm, Dean of the Faculty 2019-present; Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Nursing Division Chair 2015-2019; Professor of Biochemistry; Department Chairperson 2011-2015; MAC Building Shepherd 2014-2019, started at Berea College in Fall 1998.

Dr. Suzanne Birner, Assistant Professor of Geology; upcoming sabbatical in 2025-26; started at Berea College in Fall 2018.

Dr. Rashmi Shrestha, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry; upcoming sabbatical in 2027-28; started at Berea College in Fall 2020.

Dr. Holly Peterson, Assistant Professor of Analytical Chemistry, Geology, and Sustainability; upcoming sabbatical in 2028-29; started at Berea College in Fall 2021.

Dr. Andrew Garrett, Instructor of Chemistry, will be teaching 4 units for the chemistry program each year and run the chemical stockroom and various other EHS functions.

Previous Permanent Faculty

Dr. Jay H Baltisberger, Nathaniel Southgate Shaler Memorial Chair in Geology and Chemistry until retirement at the end of 2022; Professor of Physical Chemistry; Faculty Athletics Representative 2021-22, Department Chairperson 2005-11; sabbatical in Lyon, France (Fulbright Scholar) during 2001-02, sabbatical leave at the Ohio State University during 2011-12 and Spring 2019; started at Berea College in Fall 1993.

Dr. Paul Smithson, Emeritus Associate Professor of Environmental Chemistry at retirement at the end of 2021; Paul C Hagar Excellence in Advising Award, 2013; Sabbatical during spring 2017; started at Berea College in 2001.

Dr. Mark Cunningham, Assistant Professor of Organic Chemistry 2005-2007, currently working as Vice President For Institutional Effectiveness at Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Dr. Larry Blair, Professor of Organic Chemistry 1971-2006, Dean of the Faculty 1996-1998, Seabury Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1983
Tom Beebe on one of his popular western travel course trips

Dr. Lee Roecker, Professor of Inorganic Chemistry 1989-2005, Department Chairperson 1998-2005, currently teaching at Northern Michigan University

Dr. Thomas Reed Beebe, Professor of Organic Chemistry 1961-1998, Department Chairperson 1987-1998, Seabury Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1968

Dr. Elizabeth Kleppinger, Assistant Professor of Physical Chemistry 1987-1993

Dr. Gerrit Levey, 1949-1987, Chairman and Professor of Physical Chemistry 1958-1987

Dr. Julian Capps, Professor of Organic Chemistry

Previous Visiting Faculty and Staff

Dr. Erendra Manandhar, Visiting Professor of Chemistry, worked at Berea for three years (2018-2021) to help teach classes and conduct organic chemistry research. He covered many different classes due to maternity leave (F2018 for MRG) and sabbaticals (S2019 for JHB, 2019-20 for MJS, and 2020-2021 for AK). He has moved onto a teaching position at Columbia State Community College in Tennessee.

Dr. Elizabeth M Thomas, Visiting Professor of Chemistry from 2016-2018, joined the faculty at the University of Pikeville in Pikeville KY before moving to Morehead State University in 2020.

Dr. Chris Mullins, Visiting Professor of Organic Chemistry, will be joined us at Berea while Dr. Mary Robert Garrett was in England on sabbatical in 2016-2017.

Dr. Lloyd Mataka, NSF Research Associate 2014-2016, currently working as Assistant Professor at Lewis and Clark State University in Lewiston, Idaho.

Dr. Nicholas Marshall, Visiting Professor of Organic Chemistry from 2012-2016, currently working as Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry & Physics at the University of South Carolina at Aiken, SC.

Dr. Lisa Senetar, Lecturer of Chemistry, Fall 2014 – Fall 2015

Dr. James F. Patton, Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Fall 2012 – Spring 2013

Dr. Kathleen Kuhler, Visiting Assistant Professor of Physical Chemistry 2011-2012

Dr. Frank Yepez, Teaching Post-Doctoral Fellow in Organic Chemistry 2011-2012, currently teaching at Misericordia University

Dr. Miranda Beam, Visiting Professor of Organic Chemistry, Fall 2008 through Fall 2009, currently teaching at Campbellsville University in Campbellsville, KY.

Dr. Samuel Li, Visiting Professor of Analytical Chemistry Spring 2009, on sabbatical from the National University of Singapore

Dr. Tanea Reed, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Chemistry Spring 2008, currently chair of chemistry at Eastern Kentucky University

Dr. Samuel David, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biochemistry 2006-2007

Dr. Jamie Horn, leave replacement 2002-2003

Dr. Matthew Marmorino, leave replacement 2001-2002

Ashley Elizabeth Bray, adjunct professor 1998

Dr. Michael Wempe, leave replacement 1996-1998

Dr. Celestia Pryor, leave replacement 1994-1995

Ms. Debbie Kersman, leave replacement 1988-1989