The Purpose and Membership of the Student Government Association Senate was changed in Spring 2004 by the passage of the new SGA Constitution. Today, the Senate membership consists of the President, Vice-President, and Senator from each class, as well as four (4) at-large Senators, a faculty member, the CAB Chair (or designate), and the Vice-President of Labor and Student Life (or designate), who does not vote. The purpose of the Senate is to allocate the funds of the SGA Treasury (most of which comes from student fees), encourage and sponsor campus events that contribute to awareness, knowledge, and thought about contemporary issues, establish election procedures for Senate and Executive positions, and make all legislation necessary and proper for campus governance.