Congratulations to our 2018/19 Award Recipients!

The Student Service Awards Selection Panel would like to congratulate the following students in recognition of their outstanding achievement and work in service during the 2018/19 academic year.

E.R. Brann Good Citizenship Award:
Anne Otieno, Favour Akabogu & Talha Rehman

Jane Ann Kendrick Community Service Award:
Sergio Axel Perez Cruz

Layman Memorial Scholarship:
Brandon Pollock

The Lucille Christian and George McKinney Service Award:
Michaela Mallory & Starla Bright

Ernest and Emily G. Graham Volunteer Service Award:
Bianca Saucedo & Gabriella Epley

Dr. Lee E. Wickline Scholarship:
Shyeila Bowers

Louise Veltin Memorial Award:
Martin Kameya

Homer A. and Carol M. Porter Citizen-Servant Emerging Leader Award:
Stephanie Itumba, Emily Krolak, Madeline Kujabi & Hunter McDavid

Martin Luther and Coretta Scott King Award:
Kevin B. Woods, Jr. & Derby Chukwudi

Eva Nell Whitaker Alley Award:
Kendra Roberts, Favour Akabogu, Kaitlin Morris & Angelica Gantt

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award and the William E. Bardusch, Jr. Graduate Scholarship:
Marissa Morales


The Student Service Awards recognize current students for outstanding contributions to our surrounding community and to Berea College.  The awards are funded by endowments from donors to Berea College, and the focus of each award was chosen by the donors.