John B. Stephenson Service Award

About the John B. Stephenson Service Award

In 2014, Brushy Fork Leadership Institute created the John B. Stephenson Service Award in honor of the Institute’s founder. Former Berea College President John B. Stephenson received the first award posthumously with the award being accepted by his wife Jane Stephenson. Since that time, Brushy Fork has provided the award annually to individuals who have exhibited dedication to improving the quality of life in Appalachian communities and who have played an important role in Brushy Fork’s service to the region.


2021: Caroline Carpenter, independent consultant and formerly with the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation and the W.K. Kellogg Foundation.

2020: Vanda Rice, community volunteer from Manchester (Clay County), Kentucky, and a founding member of Stay in Clay.

2019: Joe Crawford, community volunteer and director of the Estill Development Alliance (Estill County, Kentucky).

2018: Peter Hille, former Director of Brushy Fork Leadership Institute and President of the Mountain Association in Berea, Kentucky.

Peggy Satterly

2017: Peggy Satterly, stalwart supporter of Brushy Fork and retired grant manager at the Kentucky Department of Local Government.

2016: George Pilgrim (posthumously), community volunteer and supporter of Brushy Fork (Wolfe County, Kentucky), accepted by his widow, Pam Pilgrim.

2015: Dr. Vaughn and Sandy Grisham, long-time workshop session leaders and stalwart supports of Brushy Fork Institute.

2014: President John B. Stephenson (posthumously), visionary, humanist, and founder of Brushy Fork Institute, accepted by his widow, Jane Stephenson.