The Weatherford Award is given annually to three books that best illuminates the challenges, personalities, and unique qualities of Appalachia.

  • Books will be considered in three categories: nonfiction, fiction, or poetry.
  • Books considered must have been first published during the year for which the award is made.
  • No self-published books will be considered.

To be considered, seven copies of the book must be received before November 1.  If you can’t get the books to us before that time, please use your nomination letter let us know when we can expect them.

Works will be considered upon the request of the publisher, a member of the Weatherford Award committee, or any reader. The person making the request is responsible for supplying seven copies of the book to the award committee.

For a book to be considered, send notification (either by email or letter) to Chris Green, or to the address below.

The award will be presented during the spring of the following year at the Appalachian Studies Conference.   Finalists will also be announced.

Judging: Each award committee is comprised of one Berea College faculty or staff, one or two members of the Appalachian Studies Association, and other independent persons from various parts of the Appalachian South.

Send entries to:

Weatherford Awards
Loyal Jones Appalachian Center
101 N. Chestnut
Berea, KY 40404