Loyal Jones Appalachian Center


Weather Award HomeCurrent WinnersPast WinnersNominations

The Weatherford Award is given annually to three books that best illuminates the challenges, personalities, and unique qualities of Appalachia.

Nominations are accepted in three categories: nonfiction, fiction, or poetry.

Nominated books must have been first published during the year for which the award is made.

Nominations and copies of the book must be received before December 1.  If you can’t get the books to us before that time, please use your nomination letter let us know when we can expect them.

Works may be nominated by any reader, by the publisher, or by a member of the award committee. That person is responsible for supplying seven copies of the book to the award committee.

Nominations should be sent (either by email or letter) to Chris Green, Chris_Green@berea.edu or to the address below.

The award will be presented during the spring of the following year at the Appalachian Studies Conference.

Judging: Each award committees are comprised of one Berea College faculty or staff, one or two members of the Appalachian Studies Association, and other independent persons from various parts of the Appalachian South.
Send entries to:

Chris Green
Weatherford Award Committee
Loyal Jones Appalachian Center
205 N. Main St., CPO 2166
Berea College
Berea, KY 40404

Berea College Logo


Copyright © 2014 Berea College